Friday, February 06, 2009

2009 Derringer Submissions Open

Submissions opened February 1 for the 2009 Derringer Awards presented by the Short Mystery Fiction Society to honor the best crime and mystery stories published in 2008. SMFS members as well as any editor/publisher of short mystery fiction may submit stories to Awards Coordinator Nikki Dolson until midnight March 15, 2009.

With author's name and publication name removed, the stories are judged by volunteers from the SMFS and narrowed to five finalists in each of the following categories:

Best Flash Story (Up to 1,000 words)

Best Short Story (1,001-4,000 words)

Best Long Story (4,001-8,000 words)

Best Novelette (8,001-17,500 words)

The SMFS membership as a whole then votes to determine the winner in each category, announced May 1, 2009.

See which stories have been submitted here.

Good luck to all.

1 comment:

David Cranmer said...

Thanks for the info.